Loading Events

The 20th annual Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Physics (LMP) Graduate Conference will take place on Saturday-Sunday, June 25-26th, 2020, at the University of Western Ontario in London, Ontario, Canada. We are pleased to announce that James Owen Weatherall (University of California, Irvine) will be giving the keynote address. The LMP Graduate Student Conference will bring together philosophers of logic, mathematics, and physics for two days of presentations and discussions with some of the leaders in these fields.

Contact information for conference organizers: uwolmp [at] gmail [dot] com

Western University’s Philosophy Department also hosts an annual Philosophy of Physics Conference prior to, or following the Graduate Student LMP Conference. This year’s conference will be taking place June 22-24, and will deal with the philosophical implications of gauge-dependent observables in general relativity and quantum field theory.

Graduate students who have not yet defended their PhD thesis are invited to submit papers on any topic in philosophy of logic, philosophy of mathematics, and philosophy of physics. Papers in philosophy of physics will be considered for the Annual Clifton Memorial book prize. The contest will be adjudicated by philosophy of physics faculty members at Western.

Submission Guidelines:
The maximum paper length is 5,000 words, including footnotes and appendices (but not references). If the paper includes tables, figures, or equations, an appropriate number of words should be subtracted from the limit. Papers are to be prepared for anonymous review, and should be accompanied by an abstract (no longer than 300 words). Co-authored papers are not eligible for submission.

Deadline: Papers should be submitted via EasyChair by Feb 16th, 2020 at https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=lmp2020

Authors of accepted papers will be limited to 30-35 minutes for presentation, followed by a 20-minute period of discussion. The 2020 LMP Conference will immediately follow the annual Western Philosophy of Physics Conference.

Please send any questions to the LMP Conference Committee: uwolmp@gmail.com We look forward to receiving your submission,

– The 2020 LMP Conference Committee

The LMP website includes full details about this year’s conference, including the program, information for attendees, and a list of previous recipients of the Clifton Memorial Prize.

Visit www.logicmathphysics.uwo.ca.