IAC Members: C. Kenneth Waters, Jane Maienschein, and Alan Bernstein

International Advisory Committee

The Rotman Institute of Philosophy’s International Advisory Committee (IAC) provides advice to the Director of the Institute on potential new directions and new additions to the Institute, as well as providing input on educational issues.

Members of the IAC are appointed by the President of the University. The current IAC is made up of:

Alan Bernstein
President and CEO of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research;
President Emeritus, Canadian Institutes of Health Research;
Former Executive Director, Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise

Dr. Alan Bernstein is Executive Director of the Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise, an alliance of researchers, funders, and advocates committed to accelerating the development of an HIV vaccine. He was the founding president of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. His scientific work includes contributions to our understanding of embryonic development, stem cells, hematopoietic, and cancer. His honours include the McLaughlin Medal of the Royal Society of Canada, the Robert L. Noble Prize from the National Cancer Institute of Canada, and the Australian Society of Medical Research Medal. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and is a recipient of the Order of Canada.

Susan Fitzpatrick
President, James S. McDonnell Foundation

In January 2015, Susan M. Fitzpatrick was appointed president of the James S. McDonnell Foundation, St. Louis, Missouri. The McDonnell Foundation is one of a limited number of international grant-makers supporting university-based research in the biological and behavioral sciences through foundation-initiated programs via competitive, peer-review proposal processes. As President, Fitzpatrick serves as JSMF’s Chief Operating Officer. Fitzpatrick received her Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Neurology from Cornell University Medical College (1984) and pursued post-doctoral training with in vivo NMR spectroscopic studies of brain metabolism in the Department of Molecular Biochemistry and Biophysics at Yale University.

Jane Maienschein
Professor and Director of the Center for Biology and Society, Arizona State University

Dr. Jane Maienschein is Regents’ Professor, President’s Professor, Parents Association Professor, and Director of the Center for Biology and Society at Arizona State University. Dr. Maienschein specializes in the History and Philosophy of Biology and on the social impacts of, and relationships between, biology, bioethics, and biopolicy.  An expert on embryology, genetics and cytology, Dr. Maienschein combines detailed analyses of the epistemological standards, theories, laboratory practices and experimental approaches with study of the people, institutions, and changing social, political, and legal context in which science thrives. She is the author of several books and many articles and has received numerous grants and fellowships from the National Science Foundation and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, among others. In 2010 she was named Professor of the Year in Arizona by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

C. Kenneth Waters
Tier I Canada Research Chair in Logic and Philosophy of Science, University of Calgary

Dr. C. Kenneth Waters is a Canada Research Chair at the University of Calgary. Dr. Waters’ research concerns the nature of scientific knowledge and the conditions that make this knowledge possible. His belief is that that biology provides an illuminating context for investigating a number of philosophical issues concerning science, and he is fascinated by biologists’ efforts to investigate, manipulate, and understand life. His particular interests include evolutionary biology (specifically concerning issues related to epistemic pluralism and causation), and genetics and allied sciences (specifically issues about realism, reductionism, and the structure of scientific knowledge).  He was previously at the University of Minnesota, where he was named a Scholar of the College from 2009-2012, and prior to that wasthe John Dolan Professor from 2007-2009.

Our History

Our Donor

Our Vision

Institute Leadership

Institute Funding